March 1, 2023

Mountain Recreation’s Designated Election Official (DEO) received seven self-nomination forms by the February 24th state deadline for three open board seats. Mountain Rec will be holding a polling place election on May 2, 2023. As opposed to the election Mountain Rec held last year, this will be a polling place only election. This means the District will not be mailing a ballot to every eligible voter.

“In last year’s election the Mountain Rec Board passed a resolution to place a tax increase question (known as All Access Rec) on the ballot along with holding an election for two open board seats. State law requires Special Districts to conduct a mail ballot when a TABOR (tax increase) question is on the ballot. There will be no TABOR question on this year’s ballot which is why the Mountain Rec Board passed a resolution to conduct a polling place election,” said Scott Robinson, Superintendent of Business Operations at Mountain Rec & the District’s DEO.

What does this mean for eligible voters of the Mountain Rec District?
Eligible voters in the Mountain Rec District will be able vote at any of three polling places (Gypsum Recreation Center, Eagle Pool & Ice Rink, and Edwards Field House) on May 2nd between 7 a.m.-7 p.m. or they may cast an absentee ballot. Absentee ballots will start being mailed to those who have requested one between March 20, 2023 – April 3, 2023.The deadline to request an absentee ballot from the DEO is 5 p.m. MST on April 25th and voted absentee ballots must be returned to the designated election official by 7 p.m. on election day.

Prior to election day, absentee ballots may be returned by mail or at a secure lockbox at the Gypsum Rec Center front desk. This lockbox will have 24/7 camera surveillance. The application and instructions for an absentee ballot request are available online at MountainRec.org/elections.

Curious if you’re eligible to vote in the Mountain Rec Board Election?
Read this Special District Association article on what constitutes an eligible elector/voter in a special district election and then view the Mountain Rec District Boundary Map.

Who is running for the three open board seats in 2023?
Great question! On February 28th the DEO held a lot drawing to determine the order the candidates’ names will be listed on the ballot. Below is that list.

  1. Tom Edwards
  2. Brian Brandl
  3. Robert ‘Bobby’ Ladd
  4. Joanna Kerwin
  5. Jason Cole
  6. Thomas ‘Tom’ Pohl
  7. Shawna Topor

How can you get involved?
Mountain Rec is currently seeking election judges to assist prior to and on election day. Election Judges must be registered to vote in Colorado and will complete a training with the DEO. The time commitments can vary and judges will receive $25 per hour worked. Anyone interested can contact the DEO, Scott Robinson.

Any questions surrounding the election can be sent to the DEO, Scott Robinson, 970-682-6845 or SRobinson@MountainRec.org.

Sign up for our community newsletter and be first to know about Mountain Recreation news, specials, events, and more.